Home > Life > 4/11

4/11

November 4, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I just finished an older season of Spoiler Warning, this one about Fallout: New Vegas.

I like this season. More freedom than Mass Effect or similar RPGs to really let Josh troll everyone / kill NPCs. And then there was Honest Hearts.  And the Incinerator. If you don’t watch these guys I recommend it, but the episodes/series are kind of long and I get it if it’s not really what you’re into.

I remember when I first saw this game at Uni when someone else was playing it, and it really wasn’t explained to me all that well. If someone had told me that Fallout was The Elder Scrolls; Bad Future I think I would have played it and liked. As is, I won’t probably touch the series until Fallout 4 gets released, not that a LP has ruined the game for me but mostly learning that melee is overpowered and guns aren’t – though that might be due to the host’s opinions and playstyle and not necessarily the case.

It reminds me a lot of Skyrim in the way so many important NPCs are killable, although not so much in Skyrim because certain people at weird times would be immune to death, and for some reason the Lieutenants or whoever ran the random Imperial/Stormcloak camps would always be immortal. Even when the quest chain was completed and you were advised to keep flushing out any pockets of resistance.

The videos bring this point up a lot, and it’s similar to Skyrim in that a lot of the quest lines are kind of stupid and involve making the new guy do important fetch quests in exchange for no respect and small rewards. I think Skyrim succeeds mostly in making quests that are tolerable and don’t ask “Why am I doing this and not someone else?” (unless it’s the Thieves Guild quest chain which is so dumb) but Fallout seems weird in that so many quests are “Do this. Because I need it done.” I think it’s more the saturation of similar quests in video games makes them less tolerable, not that they are bad. The tropes have been worn out. ‘Kill ten rats’ used to be a staple, now the lampshading of ‘kill ten rats’ is the staple.

I hope Spoiler Warning covers Skyrim.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

