Home > MtG > Dark Ascension (DKA) Draft #5

Dark Ascension (DKA) Draft #5

Number 5. My day was so terrible, it could only turn around with a really good drafting experience.

And. Oh my gosh was it good.

Geralf’s Mindcrusher (1st pick) Ghoultree (3rd pick) Manor Gargoyle (1st pick) Kessig Cagebreakers (2nd) and Sturmgeist (1st).

Followed up with 2 Darkthicket Wolf, 2 Orchard Spirit, 2 Headless Skaab, Niblis of the Breath, Villagers of Estwald, Grizzled Outcasts, basically everything I wanted in U/G, and that was Creatures, some removal with a side of BIG. My favourite type of deck.

Round 1: 2-0 Against a guy next to me who nearly ran a mono-black apart from Havengul Lich. Fortunately, he never drew it, and BIG ran him over. Not afraid of no Boneflingers. Won first game with Kessig Recluse + Wolfhunter’s Quiver, second with Ghoultree.

Round 2: 1-2 Lost to a R/B aggro deck due to Nightbird’s Clutches. BIG is not cool with that when it can’t block. The round I won was without losing any life though, but still. Clutches. Damn.

Round 3: 2-1 Lost the first game due to slow death to Stormbound Geist when Geistcatcher’s Rig ate my Stitiched Drake. Won the second game narrowly when Bloodline Keeper came down but eventually forced him to chump to my Darkthicket Wolf and Geralf’s Mindcrusher beating him down every turn. Won game 3 when opponent scooped to only the Mindcrusher in play, which was good for me when it would have been land draws for the next 4 turns >_<

I’m sad that I only played Cagebreakers once and I never got to attack with it.

 

U/G is a pretty cool colour combo, and I was sad I didn’t draw any Tracker’s Instincts, which is a card I would have liked to try out. But I want to talk about Ghoultree.

It's a zombie!

It’s a weird card. For a 10/10 it’s strangely fragile, and it needs some sort of evasion or a Wild Hunger to be effective on the field. Fling is nice for it, but it’s a combo that eats away two cards from your deck. Not to say that Fling isn’t useful in other situations and Ghoultree often drops at less than it’s base cmc which makes it as effective (maybe more so) than a Hollowhenge Beast, Kindercatch or a green werewolf. It does make a nice target for Prey Upon. It’s just a very weird card.

What do you guys think? When would you pick it and what deck would you fit it into?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

